Close this search box.

2024 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship Preview

The 2024 NCAA Division I golf championships will take place in Carlsbad, California.

The top 30 college golf programs and 6 individuals are heading to Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, Calif., for the 2024 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship from May 17-22.

Fairway to Green will be onsite providing real-time coverage, so be sure to subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on Instagram, X and LinkedIn.

Here is your guide to everything you need to know about this week.

How to Watch the NCAA Golf Championships

Golf Channel will be showing live coverage May 20-22, or the final three days of the championship. This will cover the final stroke play round that names the individual champion and the two rounds of match play that will determine the victorious team.

Fairway to Green will also be providing commentary throughout the day on social media and publishing recaps daily on the website and in the newsletter for the entire duration of the tournament (May 17-22).

Which Teams Are Competing in the NCAA Golf Championships?

72 teams competed in Regionals this week at 6 sites throughout the country. The top 5 teams from each region and the top 6 individuals advanced to the finals.

The Top 30 Women’s Golf Teams (in alphabetical order):

  1. Arizona State
  2. Arkansas
  3. Auburn
  4. Baylor
  5. Clemson
  6. Duke
  7. Florida State
  8. LSU
  9. Michigan State
  10. Mississippi State
  11. North Carolina
  12. Northwestern
  13. Oklahoma State
  14. Ole Miss
  15. Oregon
  16. Oregon State
  17. Pepperdine
  18. Purdue
  19. San Jose State
  20. SMU
  21. South Carolina
  22. Southern California
  23. Stanford
  24. Texas
  25. Texas A&M
  26. Tulsa
  27. UCLA
  28. Vanderbilt
  29. Virginia
  30. Wake Forest

The 6 Individual Qualifiers:

  1. Carla Bernat (Kansas State)
  2. Lauren Beaudreau (Notre Dame)
  3. Bailey Davis (Tennessee)
  4. Veronika Kedronova (Kent State)
  5. Jasmine Leovao (Long Beach State)
  6. Isabella McCauley (Minnesota)

Who Won the 2023 NCAA Golf Championships

While Rose Zhang is no longer at Stanford to defend her last two consecutive NCAA individual champion titles, Wake Forest is returning with the intent to repeat last year’s team win.

All 8 teams who made it to match play last year will be back to contend for the trophy.

What Is the NCAA Women’s Golf Championship Format?

The first 72 holes – or 4 days – will be stroke play for all qualifiers (including the 6 individuals), with the fourth day determining the individual NCAA champion and the top 8 teams that will compete in the next phase for the team win.

The last two days – May 21-22 – will be match play and determine the ultimate champions.

Where Is the NCAA Golf Championship Being Played?

The 2024 NCAA Women’s Golf Championship will be held at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, Calif. This is the start of a three-year contract with the NCAA with rumors that they would like to host the championship for both the men’s and women’s teams here indefinitely.

This year’s host for the women’s championship is the University of Texas.

The team at Fairway to Green is excited to be onsite to help share the amazing golf that is about to be played. Stay tuned at @fairwaytogreen on Instagram and @fairwayto_green on X

Share the Post:

Related Posts